User Permissions

Users are given permissions through User Groups

Permissions to a calendar are given by User Groups. Each User Group contains a set of users, and some permissions those users are given.

To create a new User Group or see an existing one, go to “calendar admin” and “user groups”.

Adding a user to a group

Users can be added to groups in one of two ways.

Firstly they can be directly included in a group by their username.

Secondly a group can be set to automatically include:

  • All Anonymous users
  • All signed in users
  • All signed in users who have verified their account

Adding or removing permissions to a group

You can add and remove permissions to a group from the “Manage Permissions” tab.

Some permissions automatically include other permissions. For instance, “CALENDAR_CHANGE” is a general permission that includes “EVENTS_CHANGE”, “GROUPS_CHANGE” and more.

Permissions that can be assigned

Note the permissions you have available to you will depend on what extensions you have installed.

org.openacalendar - CALENDAR_ADMINISTRATE

This gives permission to the users

org.openacalendar - CALENDAR_CHANGE

This is a catch all permission that automatically includes all the permissions below.

org.openacalendar - AREAS_CHANGE

This gives permission to the users to edit Areas on the calendar. Any such users can edit any Area on the calendar, regardless of whether they created it or not.

Note if the “Physical Events” feature is turned off no user will be able to do this, what ever permissions they have.

org.openacalendar - EVENTS_CHANGE

This gives permission to the users to edit Events on the calendar. Any such users can edit any Event on the calendar, regardless of whether they created it or not.

Note this includes permissions to set Groups, Venues, Areas, Tags, etc for a particular Event. So if a user has this permission but not the VENUES_CHANGE permission, it simply means they can not create new venues. They can still say an event is at an existing venue another user has created.

org.openacalendar - GROUPS_CHANGE

This gives permission to the users to edit Groups on the calendar. Any such users can edit any Group on the calendar, regardless of whether they created it or not.

Note if the “Group” feature is turned off no user will be able to do this, what ever permissions they have.

org.openacalendar - IMPORTURL_CHANGE

This gives permission to the users to edit Imports on the calendar. Any such users can edit any Import on the calendar, regardless of whether they created it or not.

Note if the “Importer” feature is turned off no user will be able to do this, what ever permissions they have.

org.openacalendar - TAGS_CHANGE

This gives permission to the users to edit Tags on the calendar. Any such users can edit any Tag on the calendar, regardless of whether they created it or not.

Note if the “Tag” feature is turned off no user will be able to do this, what ever permissions they have.

org.openacalendar - VENUES_CHANGE

This gives permission to the users to edit Venues on the calendar. Any such users can edit any Venue on the calendar, regardless of whether they created it or not.

Note if the “Physical Events” feature is turned off no user will be able to do this, what ever permissions they have.

org.openacalendar - MEDIAS_CHANGE

This gives permission to the users to edit Media on the calendar. Any such users can edit any Media on the calendar, regardless of whether they uploaded it or not.

org.openacalendar.curatedlists - CURATED_LISTS_CHANGE

This gives permission to the users to edit Curated Lists on the calendar.

This works differently from other permissions in that only users who created a Curated List and other they give permissions to (‘curators’) can edit a particular curated list.

So to edit a specific curated list, all of these must be true:

  • the user must have the CURATED_LISTS_CHANGE permission
  • the user must be the creator or curator of the specific curated list.

Note if the “Curated Lists” feature is turned off no user will be able to do this, what ever permissions they have.

Excluding users in Multi Site mode

TODO

What permissions does a particular user have?

As permissions are given through groups, it can be difficult to see what permissions a particular user has sometimes.

Go to “calendar admin” and “users” to see what permissions a user who falls into one of these groups will have:

  • All Anonymous users
  • All signed in users
  • All signed in users who have verified their account